The Yale Club of San Diego has been serving the Yale alumni in San Diego since 1964. The Yale Club of San Diego is committed to bringing together Yalies of all affiliations – alumni, parents, students, faculty, spouses and others with the Boola Boola spirit – to network, educate, and serve our community. All Yalies, whether connected to Yale College, the Yale Graduate and Professional Schools or otherwise, are welcome to participate in any of our events and become a member of Yale’s Finest Alumni in America’s Finest City.

Board Meetings

The YCSD Board normally meets at 7:00 pm on the second Monday of every odd month. All Yalies are welcome to attend the meetings.

As an all-volunteer group that gives of their time to build and grow the Yale community in San Diego, we are always looking for others willing to help the Club promote its goals of social camaraderie, intellectual pursuit, and community service for local Yale alumni.  Please contact us for the latest details and location.

Officers & Board of Directors

Please feel free to contact any one of the board officers or members through our board email address: yaleclubofsandiego@gmail.com

Jason Lujan, '89
Jason Lujan, '89 President
Following his undergraduate years at Yale studying history, Jason Lujan returned to his native California to pursue his graduate and medical professional studies. He is now a senior partner and practicing physician with Anesthesia Service Medical Group (ASMG).
Donna Shelby Batchelor, '01 BA, '07 DIV
Donna Shelby Batchelor, '01 BA, '07 DIVVice President, Communications & Outreach Director
After 10 years in San Diego Shelby is proud to call herself a California Girl. It also helps that one of her Y150 teammates, who is originally from California, recently called her such! After graduating Yale Divinity School in 2007 Shelby dedicated herself to the service of others as a Spiritual Care provider. She has worked in a variety of healthcare settings from Trauma Units to Pediatric Intensive Care, and is most recently active in the hospice industry. At The Elizabeth Hospice Shelby is the Spiritual Care Specialist and a public speaker sharing information about end-of-life care, cultural diversity, spirituality, and more, in the community at conferences, workshops, and universities and colleges. Since 2011, she has served on the Board of Directors as the Outreach and Social Media Chair. While at Yale Shelby served on the FCC, YCC, Co-Chaired the Winter Ball, was active in The Yale Film Society and was a coxswain for 4 years on the Yale Men’s Lightweight Crew Team.
Rosa Vargas '18
Rosa Vargas '18Secretary
Rosa is a San Diego native excited to engage with the Yale Club of San Diego as its Secretary. She was initially drawn to Yale because of the strong sense of community and support apparent not only on Yale’s campus, but within the alumni community. One of her favorite things to do at Yale was attend football games; during her four years in New Haven, she attended every single home football game while classes were in session. Go Bulldogs! In San Diego, Rosa works at Casa Cornelia Law Center, a humanitarian immigration law firm.
Tatiana Doran, '99 LAW
Tatiana Doran, '99 LAWTreasurer
Tatiana got her law (JD) degree from Yale Law School and an MBA from UC San Diego, Rady School of Management. She made San Diego her home in 2010 (a small move from her upbringing in Los Angeles, with its roots from falling in love with our ocean suburb city during summer visits in her childhood), and practices law and consults here in San Diego.
Michael Owens, '78 MD MPH
Michael Owens, '78 MD MPH Immediate Past President
Michael Owens completed both medical and public health degrees at Yale.

Board Members

Giovanni Chimienti, '67 PhD
Giovanni Chimienti, '67 PhDMembership Chair
Giovanni moved from New York up to New Haven for his PhD, and then west to UC San Diego for post-doctoral studies in neurosciences. Beginning in 1969, he taught courses in biological and experimental psychology at universities in Beirut, Athens, Istanbul and Izmir until his retirement in 2010. Giovanni shares responsibility for membership.
Megan Schirmacher '93
Megan Schirmacher '93Community Service Chair
After graduating from Yale in 1993 with a degree in history, and 10 years living and working in the Bay Area in high tech marketing, advertising and event management, Megan moved home to San Diego to raise her family. Since then, in addition to being a SAHM and part-time portrait photographer, she has run an education NPO and was the founding director of the Cinco de Mayo Trail Run. She is currently a substitute teacher in the Poway Unified School District.
UnfilledEvents Chair
The Events Chair coordinates and develops the social, educational, and philanthropic activities of the YCSD.
Tiange Zhou MM '16
Tiange Zhou MM '16Yale Book Award Chair
After graduating from the Yale School of Music, the award-winning composer Tiange Zhou is now pursuing a Ph.D. degree in composition at the UCSD music department. Her creative works have been performed in Asia, Europe, and North America.
UnfilledAnnual Meeting Chair
The Annual Meeting Chair leads the search for a guest speaker, coordinates the program of events, and secures the venue.
Manal Mehta '01
Manal Mehta '01Intercollegiate Liaison
Manal is the Founder of Sunesis Capital in San Diego and San Francisco and has extensive experience in investment management. He was the Coxswain of the Yale Men’s Varsity Lightweight Crew. As Intercollegiate Liaison, Manal coordinates outreach and activities with other local Ivy+ Alumni Clubs.
Adam Sragovicz '91
Adam Sragovicz '91Alumni Schools Committee Chairman
The Alumni Schools Committee (ASC) is a local extension of the Yale Admissions Office and is tasked with coordinating San Diego and Imperial County Alumni interviews. In addition, the ASC and YCSD host an accepted students reception. Adam brings many years of service to the ASC.

Past Presidents

Michael Owens, 2015-2017
Sara Jones, 2013-2015
Monique Rose, 2012-2013
Michael Owens, 2011-2012
Flint Nelson, 2010-2011
Dan Seiver, 2006-2010
Sara Jones, 2002-2006

John Chane, 2001-2002
Milda Simonaitis, 2000-2001
Cory Randall, 1999-2000
Ernie Pick, 1998-1999
Bob Purdy, 1996-1998
Bob Longstreth, 1994-1996
Rich Segal, 1993-1994

Jerry Levy, 1992-1993
Michael Lewis, 1990-1992
Tim Wollaeger, 1986-1990
Ken Ott, 1984-1986
Ross Rudolph, 1983
William McKenzie, Susan Kleeman, 1970s
C Hugh Friedman, Robin Goodenough, Norman Allenby, Joel Estes, 1960s